Grief & Loss

Grief is a natural response to an overwhelming loss. The grief process is unique to everyone and typically occurs in stages. There is no “right” or “wrong” way to grieve, but seeking counseling for grief can help facilitate a healthy healing process.

Grief can occur following any loss, including the death of a loved one or beloved pet, as well as the receipt of news of a terminal illness. The feelings and emotions that one feels during the grieving process can have an impact on day-to-day life. Although every person grieves differently, the experience often includes periods of:

  • Denial
  • Anger
  • Bargaining
  • Depression
  • Acceptance

Not everyone will experience every stage of grief, nor will everyone experience the stages in the same order. But it is important to recognize that each stage is a normal part of learning to live with an irreplaceable loss and cope with the future.

Grief counseling provides a safe place for thoughts to be expressed and explored. Often, those who are grieving find it difficult to be around friends and family, instead opting to take comfort speaking with an experienced counselor. Grief counselors pass no judgment and encourage healthy grieving for as long as is necessary to achieve healing and acceptance. The process is deeply personal – sometimes just requiring a listening ear.

We work to help grieving patients accept the reality of a loss and begin working through the grieving process. Our counselors also provide helpful tips for adjusting to a life in spite of loss, by participating in meditation, physical exercise and social and family activities. Grief counseling may continue between a few months and a few years, depending on the needs and progress of the patient. But regardless of how long the grief process takes, there is comfort in knowing the support of a licensed professional is never far away.

If you are looking for grief counseling in Kingwood or the surrounding area, give us a call today!

call us badge
telehealth badge
types of therapy badge